#1 FLER

FLER

VIP Administration

• Дирекция Клуба
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5 579 сообщений
  • Интересы:Life

Отправлено 10 декабря 2003 - 01:49

How Cool Is It to Find a High School Faculty Member Who Cares More About Your Car Than Your Grades?

Photography: Wesley Allison
Изображение

We often receive letters from various students across the country who complain about their teachers, who have taken away their copies of Super Street. We've been told that we're a distraction. There are too many girls in the magazine. We're risque. Studying is more important. Whatever. Our goal is to corrupt the minds of the youth, and what good are we if we're stashed away somewhere in the principal's office along with the confiscated pagers, baggy pants, and banned NWA cassettes and not in the hands of some young boy who's just starting to grow funny hairs in those funny areas? You need cooler teachers. You need Joe Galante.
Изображение

"Yes, I am a teacher. I teach high school Spanish," says Joe, as we get into a conversation about the whos, whats, whys, wheres, and whens of his '94 Supra. "I took a year off to finish this car, but they've completely flipped out. A lot of my students really dig the car, so much that I went and started an enthusiast club at school, geared specifically towards cars.
Изображение

I wanted them to learn about cars, such as safe driving tips and the dangers of street racing." Not only does this push Joe onto the level of coolness that only substitute teachers can achieve, it also makes him that much more respectable as a tuner as well. In fact, his second job is building cars along with his business partners at Mospeed Productions and RYTEK Motorsports. Joe's Supra is their first big project and they've done an outstanding job of converting it into the widebodied piece of machinery that it has become today.
Изображение